NW43??? Summer Fling With MAC

macs1
color in average non-artificial lighting
macs2
color in no lighting (see the reddish, orangish undertone)

 

Decided to purchase MAC Studio Fix, because I couldn’t believe how cheap it was. Twenty -seven dollars for a compact? In New York?

My NARS powder I got from Sephora cost $50 in Times Square ($45 online), so I was very impressed with MAC’s prices.

I don’t wear foundation that much in the summer, but my cousin went to MAC to get some for herself, and as I said, I just couldn’t help myself.

Now my Winter shade in Sephora is Tahoe. Tahoe has a yellow, and faint pinkish undertone. It matches my skin perfectly in the Winter. Here is a link: http://www.sephora.com/powder-foundation-spf-12-P125408?skuId=1226422. The color is described as “med/dark with caramel undetones”.

However, in the summer, it is a little too light. I can easily blend it and still wear it, but my biggest pet peeve is seeing women wearing “too light foundation”..even a tin-git too light.

I researched the equivalent color of Tahoe to MAC’s shades, and a not so reliable online source stated it was an NC43.

I had never in my life saw an NC43, so I took that answer with a grain of salt.

I told the MUA in MAC what I was told the equivalent to Tahoe is. She immediately looked at my skin and said, “No. NW43 maybe. You have combination undertone. You have reds and yellows in your skin, so your best bet is going with an NW shade.”

NO! I didn’t want to be NW. My Tahoe is definitely a yellow based powder, and the NW MAC compacts looked red clayish.

securedownloadsecuredownload

She told me my undertone will appear more red in the summer and more yellow in the winter. She was so right. My skintone is extremely warm, and I’ve always noticed one undertone being more dominant, depending on the weather/season.

I opened the NC43 and it was way too light. Like an olive person’s skin tone. That online source was so wrong!

NC43-> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dKQ3qaOI9LQ

NC45 was too dark.

She told me I looked like an NW43. I was still not happy about getting a red based powder, but I agreed to try it on.

She also brought a C7 powder, for me to try (I have no clue what that stands for).

She applied the C7 to the left side of my face, and the NW43 to the right side, and as clear as daylight, the NW43 was a perfect match. The C7 was ok, but not like the NW43.

I bought it, but still didn’t feel confident, especially knowing I have combination undertone, and that I was going to have to switch powders every season, and not just switch shades, but switch brands.

MAC probably doesn’t have my Winter shade in the studio fix. An NC43 would still be way too light in the Winter, and an NW43 would be too red based, since my yellow undertones protrude when it gets cold out.

I actually love the finish of this studio fix compact. I also obviously love the price.

This NW43 compact will probably last me forever since I only wear a thin layer, and can only wear it in the summer and summer is almost over.

Just felt like venting about my high maintenance, combination skin (lol).

Advice: DO NOT SEARCH YOUTUBE AND GOOGLE AS A RELIABLE SOURCE TO FIND YOUR SHADE. MOST PEOPLE ON THERE WEAR THE WRONG ONE. GO TO A STORE AND TRY IT ON.

She isn’t an NW43 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q_rsOs7CE9w

Neither is she https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xcdTFCrIS

The only person I could find that seems to be a true NW43 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WQGIWBytGt8

 

Leave a Reply

