Foundation-less Summers. 9 Organic Things to Restore Youthful, Glowing Skin

Growing up skin care was the least of my worries.

I spent my childhood summers playing outside in the humid Caribbean climate, and laying face up on the beach, glaring into the sun, while other summers I spent in the less humid, but stinging hot Los Angeles sun at tennis matches.

I never thought Black people had to use sun screen. My parents never encouraged me to use it. I was always an earthy child, and to them, I was just being a kid.

However, as I got older I noticed the damage all of this had caused my skin. I didn’t notice until an old classmate saw me in 2009 and said she almost didn’t recognize me because my skin looked like I had taken a trip to Africa. Her face was so in awe that I began laughing.

After running into her, I went home and realized my skin not only looked darker, but dull, which was worse. I started to exfoliate and take vitamin c, drink water (I still have to force myself), and my skin started looking more vibrant, as I scrubbed away the dead skin cells.

I also started to use sunscreen before leaving the house in the summer, and became a natural fanatic when it came to my skin around the time I went natural with my hair in 2010.

Below are 9 organic products, all of which are great for renewing skin and restoring  youth:

1) Avalon Organics Vitamin Cleansing Milk– I used this with an exfoliating brush on my face and neck

AVA-45390-5

2) 100% Pure Hyaluronic Acid Serum– Hyaluronic Acid is a naturally occurring substance found in skin, collagen and other areas of the body when we are younger, but as we age, we stop producing it. This makes it easier for sun damage to occur, as well as dryness and loss of collagen and elastin. HA serum helps replace the loss, giving the off a glowing skin tone and supple appearance.

3)Power C Gummies- they really make your skin glow.  I took these along with hair, skin an nails vitamins and my skin looked amazing.

4)Coconut Oil-works as an excellent sun screen and makes the skin glow. If you moisturize with it at night,in the morning your face will be glowing. Coconut oil is known to penetrate really well.

5) Coco/Shea Butter-My dad’s side of the family are prone to eczema, and I had it as a baby. My mom was disgusted by it and would rub me down with a block of pure 100% coco butter (the real thing in raw form) every morning and night. People always asked her how she got my skin so clear from it, and she always boasted about using that. Shea butter is said to work the same, but 2 winters ago I broke out with eczema for the first time since I was a baby on my upper arms and immediately bought raw coco butter and my spots are 95% gone now.

Coco and Shea butter also works as a great sun screen

6) Raw Aloe Vera Plant– In my eyes aloe vera is a miracle plant. Growing up mother’s husband was an herbal plant fanatic. He’d put aloe vera on my elbow or knees for every cut/bruise, instead of drug store products. Aloe Vera has excellent healing properties. He would also eat the bitter stuff inside raw. It helps restore youthful skin. I need to make a trip to Farmer’s Market to get some.

7) Glycerin–  Glycerin is a serum like product that works with the humidity in the air to absorb moisture naturally into your skin, which gives off a supple effect. It makes your skin really soft, and is said to be great for eczema and psoriasis, dry skin etc, because of it’s ability to draw in moisture.

8) Dr Bronners Magic Peppermint Soap– I love this soap! it’s better in the summer, because it makes your skin feel refreshed and cool after a shower, which feels awesome after being outside in the heat. It is made from all natural oils and ingredients. It is extremely moisturizing. I use it in the shower in place of regular soap with an exfoliating brush all over my body.

9) WATER! – I am so so bad at drinking water. The rule is to drink half of your weight in ounces. I’m 5’1, 110 pounds (I think lol. Haven’t weighed myself in forever), which means I should be drinking around 55 oz of water a day (7 glasses of water).

Leave a Reply

